Zeff Wheelock

It IS all about me…

“iTunes +QuickTime” has an invalid signature. It will not be installed.

I recently ran into this issue when running Apple Software Update on my Windows XP machine and searching the Internet did not give me any good leads.  What I did seems to be working so I will share:

Go to Task Mangler (Task Manager for those who want literal names) and End the Processes anything to do with Apple.

Go to C:\Program Files\Common Files\ and remove the Apple folder.

Launch Apple Software Update and it should have the iTunes and Quicktime under the Optional software again.

July 18, 2011 - Posted by | Apple

13 Comments »

  1. How about for mac users? : ) Thanks

    Comment by Knama | October 2, 2011 | Reply

    • I haven’t seen that happen on my Mac. Only my Windows XP machine. I would imagine the solution would get rid of the preference file.

      Comment by Zeff | October 3, 2011 | Reply

  2. I cannot remove the Apple folder in “common files”

    Comment by Amanda | November 3, 2011 | Reply

  3. This did not work :/ Does the Apple file have to be completely deleted?

    Comment by JoeZEFF | January 30, 2012 | Reply

  4. This worked for me on a windows vista notebook. Yes, “remove” means “delete.”

    Comment by M. Metz | July 30, 2012 | Reply

  5. I cant delete it it says try again, and when i tried moving the folder outside to program files it wouldnt move all of them WTF should I do?? :(

    Comment by Frank Murphy | September 23, 2012 | Reply

  6. thank you so much to user: Zeff… problem solved! thank you

    Comment by Anthony | January 12, 2013 | Reply

  7. tried it and “cannot delete ASL.dll: acess is denied” screen came up

    Comment by David | January 15, 2013 | Reply

  8. I had trouble removing the Apple file. Just keep checking the Task Manager when AppleMobileDevice appears again & make sure to remove iTunes. :)

    Comment by healingturtle | January 19, 2013 | Reply

  9. I am actually glad to glance at this webpage posts which consists of lots
    of useful information, thanks for providing such information.

    Comment by http://mykidisautistic.com/ | May 1, 2013 | Reply

  10. It’s awesome to visit this web page and reading the views of all mates about this paragraph, while I am also zealous of getting experience.

    Comment by Richelle | May 3, 2013 | Reply

  11. Zeff – I am using your advice re: signature error – will let you know if it worked. I run Windows 7. Have you ever seen iPhones never want to update. I have the 4S version and 2 of the returned iPhones failed to want to update. Was wondering if you ever saw this before. 2 of the 3 iPhones failed to update. Same router and wireless internet service.

    Comment by Jeannine | June 11, 2013 | Reply

  12. this worked beautifully for me! Great advice!

    Comment by jjmofro | September 14, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

